Sheehan Voted Supporters Club Player of the Year.


Notts County captain Alan Sheehan has been voted the Supporters' Club Player of The Year.

Sheehan, who took over the armband under Shaun Derry, beat off strong competition from goalkeeper Bartosz Bialkowski and winger Jamal Campbell-Ryce to claim top-spot.

This is the 50th year that the Supporters Club has presented the award having started the annual vote in 1964.

Previous winners include Les Bradd, Pedro Richards, Ian Richardson and last year, Gary Liddle.

Votes were collected from fans visiting the Supporters' Club base on Meadow Lane, through it's website, Facebook & Twitter sites and from supporters using the Supporters Club's Away Travel Service.

Iris Smith, from Notts County Supporters Club said, "Due to the fantastic but chaotic scenes at Oldham, we were unable to pass the iconic trophy directly to Alan but we did give it to Gregg Abbott to pass onto him"

"I did grab a word with him after the game and informed him of the news and he thanked everyone"

Sheehan put in another captain's performance at Boundary Park and scored the pressure penalty which helped Notts ensure they completed The Great Escape and remain in League One for next season.

The Supporters Club also presents a Merit Award to either a supporter or member of staff who has gone above and beyond what would normally be expected of them.

This year the award has been presented to Stuart Pulford who has taken the drum both home and away throughout the season.

Stuart and his partner Carol have also helped The Supporters Club in many ways this year in what has been a difficult season.